Find out how to attract a person you like!
Home » Love & Relationships » Tips for Coping with Grief and Loss

Tips for Coping with Grief and Loss

By admin
coping with grief

Person coping with grief and loss

Human beings are bound to each other by a string of emotion, love, caring and sharing. It is understandable to experience grief of bereavement when you lose a loved one for ever, but it is also true that you require coping with the grief and moving on with life. Coping with grief and loss will be easier when you give yourself the scope to begin the healing process. There is no need to feel that you are not doing justice to the memory of the deceased one by starting the healing process, because the person who is no more would not want to see you in pain.

How to Start Coping with Grief and Loss

The first step of coping with grief and loss, is to accept the truth that you have lost someone who meant a lot to you. Some people just rush through the grieving process and they try to run from the pain, which is not possible. Others may believe that the person is not really gone. This happens especially to kids who feel that the deceased person will come back some day. It is important to make them realize that the person will not come back. Here are some tips that will help you coping with grief and loss.

  • Don’t let the grieving process pass in a hurry. Let yourself do or think what comes in your mind, because this is that way that grief will settle down as a memory, and you will be able to start the grieving process.
  • Talk to people about the person whom you lost. You can talk about his or her life with people, and this is a way of showing gratitude to the person who is no more. Remember the good times and share humorous stories, as this will help you to feel better.
  • It is important for you to understand that beginning the healing process is not betraying your feelings towards your loved one. It is natural and you should not try to stop the natural process.
  • You can utilize rituals for certain parts of the day. You can make a schedule to light a candle, listen to music that the person liked, or do any other activity that reminds you of the person. This will keep you connected with him or her, and the rest of the day may be easier. Gradually you will be able to start living normal life.
  • Find a meaning or purpose for your life, because life has to go on. If you are not able to do so, then talk to a family member, friend, Life Coach, or professional to discuss the matter with you.

The Five Stages of Grief

Every person’s grief is individual, but to help identify the feelings during each phase of the grief process, Dr Elisabeth Kübler-Ross came up with the ”the five stages of grief model”, also known as the Kübler-Ross model or ”grief cycle”. The five stages include: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Some people may get stuck in a specific stage, and may not experience all stages. The time it takes to get through each stage also varies for each person. Don’t feel as if you have to rush through any stage.

The Grieving Process as a Roller Coaster

Instead of going through different stages, you may experience your grieving process more like a ”roller coaster” with all its ups and downs. Feel what you have to feel and as time goes by, you should be experiencing less and less grief. Of course you will never forget your loved one, but as you come to an acceptance and find peace with the situation, you will be able to remember him or her with a joyful heart.

Get Support

Turn to family, friends, therapist, grief counselor, and/or join a support group. It’s important to express your feelings when you are coping with grief and loss. When you share your loss, it makes the burden of grief a lot easier to carry. Spiritual activities such as meditating, praying, or going to church/temple/mosque, can also be comforting and strengthening.

For those who have experienced a loss of a loved one before, you probably know how to support a grieving friend. Your support and experience can help in coping with the grief and loss of a loved one.

Posted: June 20, 2014 at 11:48 am
Related Stories
Leave a Comment